We forget our responsibilities says St Neots Town boss Iain Parr after loss at Arlesey Town

THERE’S no panic – but we really must stop throwing away points like that.

That was the message from St Neots Town manager Iain Parr after the Saints were beaten 4-3 at Arlesey Town after leading with 3-2 with just five minutes remaining of this Southern League Premier Division derby.

Parr, who watched the game again on Sunday night, and was planning to make his players sit through a repeat this week, said: “Once again we played well for 40 minutes in the first half but then lost our confidence.

“In the second half we did the same – it was working for 40 minutes and then we let them score twice in the last five. We forget our responsibilities far too easily and we are getting punished for that.”

Adrian Sear watched the game from the stands after re-signing for the club following his release from cash-strapped Histon, who he only joined in the summer.

Midfielder Sear was suffering from a slight neck injury but with Ollie Thorne suspended for the visit of Gosport Borough next Saturday, it will be like for like as last season’s player of the year makes his return.

Also available again on Saturday should be Dan Jacob, the lively winger and forward who has maybe been this season’s top player.

Most Read

“Now we have some serious competition in the midfield, which is good – and that makes us more flexible too,” said Parr.

Jay Davies actually gave the Saints a third-minute lead at Arlesey with a fine free kick, but the home side drew level through Ben Farrell in the 42nd minute and it was 2-1 when Drew Roberts scored just 60 seconds later.

Stefan Moore found Ben Mackey for 2-2 in the 53rd minute and Lewis Hilliard made it 3-2 when he rounded the goalkeeper five minutes later. But five minutes from time Chris Dillion beat Michael Duggan for the equaliser and Roberts shot past the St Neots goalkeeper for 4-3.

St Neots: Michael Duggan, Jon-Paul Duncliffe, Ed Adjei, Ollie Thorne, Jordan Gent, Gavin Hoyte, Lewis Hilliard, Jay Davies, Stefan Moore, Ben Mackey, Ade Yusuff (Tom Spark).