First Strokes Godmanchester completed a hat-trick when triumphing in the Wisbech Swimming Club gala yesterday.

The local club took the honours in the Fenland event for the third time in six years despite selecting an inexperienced squad which featured several swimmers racing competitively for the first time.

Joshua Titman, Zac Vickers, Hannah Pye, Jessica Richardson, George Pendered, Matthew Platts, Oliver Pendered, Olivia Burgess, Hananh Lutman, and Amelia Mather all won races for First Strokes.

The remaining squad members - Millie Wells, Euan Clark, India Furbank, Edward Jennings, Katy Lloyd, Sean Flanagan, Henry Reeve, Isobel Mather and George Jennings – all enjoyed podium finishes.

First Strokes topped the overall standings from host club Wisbech, St Neots and Ely with team captain Lutman lifting the trophy.