SCHOOLS’ FOOTBALL: St Ivo stars storm to national glory

St Ivo School Under 16s celebrate their Premier League Schools' Cup for Girls triumph.

St Ivo School Under 16s celebrate their Premier League Schools' Cup for Girls triumph. - Credit: Archant

They’ve done it again . . . the stunning St Ivo female footballers have secured another national title.

The school’s super Under 16 side lifted the Premier League Schools’ Cup for Girls with a brilliant final performance last Thursday.

They thumped Northumberland opponents Cramlington Learning Village 6-0 at the bet365 Stadium – the home of recently relegated Premier League club Stoke City – to extend a glorious run of national success which stretches back to 2013.

PE teacher Lisa Trigg, the driving force behind the school’s achievements in recent years, was again responsible for this triumph along with highly-respected local coach Darren Marjoram.

Trigg said: “It is superb for the Under 16s to have won a national title again. Their performances on and off the pitch have been simply outstanding this year.

“They are playing the best football they have ever produced, but also displaying terrific sportsmanship towards their opponents while doing so.

“I can’t thank Darren enough. He has coached alongside me throughout the five years and has been an inspiration. We couldn’t have come this far without him.”

Most Read

Katherine Speed handed the Ivo aces an early lead when speeding away from four defenders to finish and Zoe Barratt doubled the lead before half-time after fine work from Abby Townsend.

But the goals really began to flow in the second period as St Ivo delivered a dominant display. Caitlin McGeown stretched the advantage soon after the restart before player-of-the-match Speed and Barratt both struck for a second time.

And St Ivo saved the best until last as Elle Jefferson produced a wonderful individual effort to complete the scoring and seal a second national triumph after also tasting success when playing at Under 12 level.

The team have since been runners-up in two other finals but also won the Rod Houston Cup – a British Isles competition – in 2016.

St Ivo headteacher Sam Griffin said: “This is another truly stunning victory for a team whose record of success at such a high level is incredible.

“Every member of the squad is to be congratulated and I also add my thanks to Lisa, who works tirelessly to create such fantastic opportunities for our students.”

The successful St Ivo side have been sponsored by Virgin Media Business and Mitsa.

St Ivo School squad: Zoe Barratt, Aimee Best, Ellie Brown, Ellen Bullin, Alice Claridge, Madeline Claridge, Lane Dobbie, Elle Jefferson, Sophie Marjoram, Caitlin McGeown, Katherine Speed, Sophie Tarpey, Abby Townsend, Erin Waterman, Nell Webber (captain).