Roddy roars to glory in a St Ives 10k scorcher

Winner Patrick Roddy (312) leads in the early stages of the St Ives 10k.

Winner Patrick Roddy (312) leads in the early stages of the St Ives 10k. - Credit: Archant

Warwickshire runner Patrick Roddy blew away the opposition to win another successful staging of the St Ives 10k last Sunday.

Roddy completed the course, starting and finishing at the St Ivo Outdoor Centre, in a time of 34:03 to finish more than a minute-and-a-half ahead of his closest rival.

That was Cambridge & Coleridge AC man Kevin O’Holleran, who took second place in 35:32 with Alex Metcalfe of Ely Runners crossing the line 10 seconds further back in third spot.

David Hudson, representing Team Bex - the fundraising drive created by late mum-of-two Rebecca Griffiths to raise money for the Huntingdon Community Cancer Network – was the first local finisher in fourth place.

Neil Shorten of Riverside Runners finished ninth in a field of 430 athletes while clubmates Kyle Chesterman and Gary Evans also came home inisde the top 25.

The St Neots club also provided three age group winners thanks to Maurice Hemmingway (M60), Caroline Brooks (W35) and Eve Casbard (W40).

Bruce Hobday, founder of a race first staged in 1993, set the runners on their way while Mike Hayball, chairman of organising club Hunts AC, presented the post-race awards.

Most Read

Hayball said: “We were delighted with such a great turnout.

“I would like to thank all the athletes for taking part, the sponsors for backing the event, and our terrific organising committee and volunteers without whose help the race could not have taken place.”

There was success for two siblings in the 3k fun run.

Lexi Flockhart, a member of Hunts AC, won the Under 11 Girls category in a time of 13:12 while younger sibling, Evie, was first home in the Under 9 Girls bracket in 14:21.

Running ability clearly runs in the family as their older sister, Shannon, competed in the English Schools’ Championships earlier this month.

Kira Shipley and Keelan Duffy (both Huntingdon BRJ) and Hannah Williams (Riverside Runners) were other locals to collect age group honours in the fun run.


(Top 25): 1 Patrick Roddy (Kenilworth) 34:03.06, 2 Kevin O’Holleran (Cambridge & Coleridge) 35:52.8, 3 Alex Metcalfe (Ely Runners) 35:43.5, 4 David Hudson (Team Bex) 36:06.0, 5 Charles Wartnaby (Cambridge & Coleridge) 36:11.0, 6 Craig Holgate (Ely Runners) 36:28.7, 7 Daniel Hurst (Cambridge & Coleridge) 37:33.4, 8 Ian Clark (Orton Harriers) 37:44.3, 9 Neil Shorten (Riverside Runners) 37:58.2, 10 John Mosley (Lincoln Wellington) 37:58.8; 11 Jeff Lucas (Werrington Joggers) 38:13.9, 12 Chris Gay (Newmarket Joggers) 38:37.4, 13 Nairn McWilliams (St Albans Striders) 38:40.9, 14 Geoffrey Barnard (Cambridge & Coleridge) 38:55.4, 15 Lee Tatum (unattached) 39:02.1, 16 Jon Anderson (Cambridge & Coleride) 39:26.1, 17 Paul Schofield (unattached) 39:31.7, 18 Kyle Chesterman (Riverside Runners) 39:41.5, 19 Rhyse Plummer-Coles (Huntingdon BRJ) 40:20.8, 20 Clare Thurgood (Orton Harriers) 40:34.6, 21 Sam O’Rourke (Godmanchester) 40:40.6, 22 Gary Evans (Riverside Runners) 40:44.5, 23 Tom George (Lincoln Wellington) 40:45.5, 24 Carl Rooney (unattached) 40:54.0, 25 Craig Crofts (unattached) 41:08.3.

Age group winners

M40 – Jeff Lucas (Werrington Joggers) 38:11.7.

M45 – Charles Wartnaby (Cambridge & C) 36:08.9.

M50 - Jon Anderson (Cambridge & C) 39:22.7.

M55 – Andrew Larham (March AC) 42:19.0.

M60 – Maurice Hemingway (Riverside Runners) 43:48.2.

M65 – Philip Housden (Biggleswade AC) 48:14.9.

M70 – James Ryan (unattached) 56:44.1.

W35 – Caroline Brooks (Riverside Runners) 43:02.9.

W40 – Eve Casbard (Riverside Runners) 47:50.8.

W45 – Geraldine Larham (March AC) 43:05.7.

W50 – Catherine Payne (Grantham RC) 43:29.1.

W55 – Bobbie Sauerzapf (Bungay Black Dog) 51:31.6.

W60 – Barbara Johnson (Yaxley Runners) 52:37.9.

W65 – Julie McGreal (Royston Runners) 52:32.7.

Team winners

Men – Cambridge & Coleridge AC (Kevin O’Holleran, Charles Wartnaby, Daniel Hurst, Geoffrey Barnard)..

Women – Cambridge & Coleridge AC (Isabelle Lemasson, Anna Riu, Suzanne Tautz).

3K Fun Run

(Age group winners)

Under 9 Boys –Joshua Pollard (unattached) 15:12.

Under 9 Girls – Evie Flockhart (unattached) 14:21.

Under 11 Boys – Isaac Morris (Ely Runners) 11:04.

Under 11 Girls – Lexi Flockhart (Hunts AC) 13:12.

Under 13 Boys – Max James (Bourne Tn Harriers) 11:07.

Under 13 Girls – Kira Shipley (BRJ) 13:40.

Under 15 Boys – Keelan Duffy (BRJ) 12:26.

Under 15 Girls – Hannah Williams (Riverside Runners) 13:14.