OSCAs, awards and county caps all on the menu at the Huntingdonshire Cricket Board annual dinner

Katherine Speed receives her award from ECB chief executive Tom Harrison.

Katherine Speed receives her award from ECB chief executive Tom Harrison. - Credit: Archant

One of the most influential figures in the game was on hand to dish out the awards at the Huntingdonshire Cricket Board (HCB) annual dinner.

English Cricket Board chief executive Tom Harrison - a man with links to this area having played Hunts League cricket for Nassington before going on to enjoy a first-class career with Derbyshire - was present at the event at Wood Green in Godmanchester.

Harrison paid warm tribute to the efforts of the HCB – especially for their work with younger players and the emerging players programme.

The evening also saw a host of awards presented for fine contributions of various kinds to Huntingdonshire cricket through the NatWest Outstanding Service to Cricket Awards (OSCAs).

Graham Banks of Eaton Socon and Mick Gunney of Alconbury were two local recipients while a special presentation was made to HCB chairman David Holmes who has just completed 25 years in the post.

Blossoming talent Katherine Speed was named the Hunts youth player of the year.

The Houghton & Wyton all-rounder enjoyed a fine 2015 in which she featured in the England Women’s Development programme and trained regularly with Essex.

Most Read

The Gary Whitbread Memorial Trophy for lifetime playing achievement went to Don Griffin who played for the county side for 16 years between 1949 and 1965 and served as captain for three of them.

He also took 69 wickets in Hunts colours.

Eight players - Adelaide Walkling, James Taylor, Jack Brumfield, Vishal Popat, Mark Saunders, Jai Venugopal, Joe Watling and Grant Biddle - were awarded their county caps. They were presented by Leicestershire spinner James Sykes, who rose through the Hunts junior system.

Other award winners . . .

Newcomer of the Year (South): Olly Jefferies (Godmanchester Town CC).

Newcomer of the Year (North): Ben Saunders (Ramsey CC).

Most Promising Player (South): James Taylor (Eaton Socon CC).

Most Promising Player (North): Suliaman Saleem (Peterborough Town CC).