A PRE-SEASON fixture schedule of 11 home games is certainly unusual but Saints chairman and owner Mike Kearns, pictured, maintains it could be a masterstroke heading into next season.

A PRE-SEASON fixture schedule of 11 home games is certainly unusual but Saints chairman and owner Mike Kearns, pictured, maintains it could be a masterstroke heading into next season.

Kearns feels it will give manager Dennis Greene maximum preparation time as St Neots attempt to launch an assault on the Southern League Division One Central title and back-to-back promotions.

"It seems like overkill, but we feel it's right as we can work our plan and don't have to rush things," Kearns said.

"The main reason for having all 11 games at home is the pitch. Over the summer a lot of pitches at grounds will be rock hard but, with the sprinkler system we've got in place, our pitch will be soft and playable and won't be so hard on players' legs.

"Going away from home is unlikely to provide any real benefit to Dennis as 
he prepares for the new season so that's why we've done it."

On some of the challenges his side face during pre-season, Kearns said: "There are some testing fixtures 
in there.

"We've built up a relationship with MK Dons and Peterborough United - particularly Barry Fry - and we want to keep those going.

"Arlesey have just won the league we're going up into and the game against Coalville is a clever and intriguing one I think as they beat King's Lynn on their way to the FA Vase final."

St Neots Town's pre-season fixtures - all to be played at The Hunts Post Community Stadium

Sat, Jul 9: MK Dons

Tue, Jul 12: Walton & Hersham

Sat, Jul 16: Farnborough

Mon, Jul 18: Concord Rangers

Wed, Jul 20: Cambridge United

Sat, Jul 23: Peterborough United

Mon, Jul 25: Dagenham & Redbridge

Sat, Jul 30: Chelmsford City

Tue, Aug 2: Arlesey Town

Sat, Aug 6: Coalville Town

Tue, Aug 9: Harlow Town