CYCLING: St Ives star Jason Kierman back on track as he enjoys successful return from serious injuries

Jason Kierman follows his pacer Paul Curran during his successful return from injury. Picture: SIMON

Jason Kierman follows his pacer Paul Curran during his successful return from injury. Picture: SIMON JONES - Credit: Archant

Jason Kierman made a stunning return from serious injury last Saturday.

St Ives Cycling Club man Tim Phillips.

St Ives Cycling Club man Tim Phillips. - Credit: Archant

The St Ives Cycling Club star won the inaugural LVRC Derny Series in Derby - his first outing since suffering seven broken ribs, a punctured lung and separated shoulder in a crash last summer.

Derny racing sees riders slipstream a modified motorcycle which is used to pace them through 50-lap races. Kierman produced a late burst to zoom past the leader on the final lap of his elimination heat before hitting the front early in the final.

Following his pacer, Paul Curran, he set a strong speed that none of his rivals could match to lead throughout and take victory in the event for over 40s.

Kierman is a former British Masters champion on the track and is chasing more success at that level and on the European stage in 2018.

Kierman won two prizes – one of them pleasing (to reflect his fine performances on the track) and the other painful (for the nastiest crash suffered by a club member during 2017) at recent St Ives Cycling Club awards bash.

Tim Phillips collected almost a quarter of the accolades on offer at the bash held at St Ives Golf Club.

Most Read

Four of his seven trophies were earned by fine performances in the club’s time trial championship. Phillips won the highest points veteran standard, highest points veteran actual time, highest points overall and the fastest club 10 gongs.

He also scooped the fastest 10 veteran and fastest 25 any age time trial prizes along with the award for being the fastest veteran to complete the club’s hill climb race.

Other time trial winners were Nathan Gibson (highest points junior in club championship), Lilly O’Dell (highest points lady in club championship), Paul Schofield (fastest time trial of the year), Jess Williams (fastest 10 lady), Cecilia Hime (fastest 10 junior girl) and Nick Hall (fastest 10 junior boy).

Jack Taylor (fastest rider of any age) and Julia Wardley-Kershaw (fastest lady) were other hill climb winners, while the road racing trophies went to Jack Burgin (highest points), Sean Purser (youth) and Ralph Keeler (veteran).

Andy Fountain (most improved rider and cyclocross champion veteran) earned two accolades as did Hime, who also received the cyclocross senior prize.

Mike Hoy received the committee shield for his services to the club, while Mick Curtis collected the ‘hammered’ award in recognition of his determined attitude to racing.