The young talents of Hunts bowls served up a thriller last Sunday – in front of the English Bowling Federation president.

National supremo Paul Bennett was among the spectators at Papworth as the Hunts A team pipped county stablemates Hunts B by a single shot in a Reg Wright Trophy clash that was nail-biting and exciting in equal measure.

The ‘A’ team only actually triumphed on one rink, but that 33-19 success for a trio skipped by Bradley Herbert proved decisive.

The ‘B’ team impressed on the other two rinks with Sam Brugnoli’s trio claiming a 29-18 victory while skip Harry Ward settled his clash with the last bowl of the final end as they won 22-21.


Hunts A 72, Hunts B 71

Hunts A names first: Eddie Patience/Ben Reed/Mack May (all Buckden) lost to Robyn Walters (Huntingdon)/Caitlin Jackson (Needingworth)/Harry Ward (Warboys) 21-22; Brandon Jackson (Needingworth)/Mark Franklin (Papworth)/Kierren Murray (Brampton) lost to Dan Townsend (Papworth)/Sam Ormiston (Needingworth)/Sam Brugnoli (Huntingdon) 18-29; Lisa Haynes (Hemingfords)/Tom Anderson (Eynesbury)/Bradley Herbert (Sawtry) beat Jorja Jackson/Zhane Cole/Harlan Cole (all Needingworth) 33-19.