UKIP makes 10 gains and Cambridgeshire County Council leader Nick Clarke loses his seat

Leader of Cambs County Council, Nick Clarke

Leader of Cambs County Council, Nick Clarke - Credit: Archant

THERE was no outright winner of the Cambridgeshire County Council election.

And the Conservative leader Nick Clarke has lost his Fulbourn seat to Lib Dem John Williams.

Mr Clarke received 848 votes against Cllr Williams’ total of 1,180. June Ford (Lab) received 434 votes and David Smith (Green) 169.

The loss of his seat and a number of gains by UKIP mean that the Tories no longer have an outright majority at Shire Hall, although they are still the largest group by some margin.

The Lib Dems remain the second largest group – but suffered the largest number of losses, seven seats – ahead of UKIP which increased its number of councillors from two to 12. Labour also increased its number of councillors, from three to seven.

A county council spokesman said: “Political etiquette is that the party with the most councillors is given the first opportunity to form an administration. The next council will be formed at its meeting on May 21.”

The finally tally for the county council is:

Most Read

Conservative 32

Lib Dem 14


Labour 7

Independent 4

The previous line up at Shire Hall was:

Conservative 37

Lib Dem 21

Labour 3

Non-aligned Conservatives 2


Independent 3

Green 1