Town Council results

St Ives Town Hall.

St Ives Town Hall. - Credit: Archant

Alongside elections for seats on Huntingdonshire District Council, parish and town councils around Huntingdonshire also held elections.

Not all seats were contested, with many councillors returned unopposed, but a vote took place in all seats in which sufficient candidates had put themselves forward.

Below is a rundown of results in contested seats at St Neots, Ramsey, and Huntingdon town councils.

St Neots

In St Neots Priory Park, Putting People Before Politics candidate Barry Chapman was elected with 821 votes, as well as Paul Davies with 636 votes and Delphine Johnson, with 571 votes.

In the Eynesbury ward, Putting St Neots Residents First won all of the seats, with Elizabeth Collins receiving 1,025 votes, along with Justin Cooper Marsh (989), Caroline Green (980), Emma Speed (909), and Douglas Terry (860).

Other wards in the town including Eaton Ford, St Neots East and Eaton Socon, were uncontested, so all candidates were returned unopposed, including town mayor, Councillor Derek Giles.

Most Read


Town mayor, Councillor Doug McIlwain reclaimed his seat on Ramsey Town Council, collecting 683 votes.

There were 17 seats available on Ramsey Town Council and 28 candidates up for election. The turnout was 34.55 per cent and there were 23 spoilt ballots.

Two seats were won by the UK Independent Party, with Shirley Reeve and Peter Reeve claiming the seats.

Others elected included candidates Miranda Clarke and Jeffery Clarke, Roger Brereton, John Bufton, Stephen Corney, Adela Costello, Richard Costello, Daniel Darmody, Haydn Edwards, Anthony Lavender, John Palmer, Stephen Selby, Edward Welsh and Robert Brown.


In the Huntingdon Central ward Brian Luckman standing as an Independent for Huntingdon Town was elected with 251 votes as well as Karl Webb under the same banner, with 296 votes.

Turnout for the ward was 26.21 per cent.

Huntingdon East had four vacant seats, with all four seats going to Liberal Democrats. These included Juliet Cole who won the most amounts of votes, with 728, along with Padrica Kennington (609), Patricia Shrapnel (655), and Concepta Wayment (639).

Huntingdon Hinchingbrooke Park also had one seat available and that went to Liberal Democrat Veronica Hufford, with 278 votes.

In Huntingdon North East, Labour candidate Ann Beevor won the majority of the votes with 560.

12 seats were available in Huntingdon, with one seat claimed by an independent, two for Independent for Huntingdon Town, four seats going to Labour, and five to the Liberal Democrats.