St Neots Town Council names new chairman

THE new Conservative controlled St Neots Town Council has elected a chairman and vice-chairman for 2011-2012.

THE new Conservative-controlled St Neots Town Council has elected a chairman and vice-chairman for 2011-2012.

The appointment of Priory Park Councillor Barry Chapman, pictured, as chairman and Eynesbury’s Councillor Andrew Hansard as vice-chairman took place at the town council meeting last Wednesday (June 22).

Cllr Chapman, who was first elected to the town council in 2007, told The Hunts Post: “I am passionate about our town and feel very honoured to be the chairman of our town council.

“We now have a large group of creative, enthusiastic, able and experienced councillors who will deliver over the next four years.

“This is a very exciting and challenging time for St Neots and I look forward to working with all members of our new council and the people of our town during the next year.”

In addition, Eaton Socon Councillor Andy Jennings was elected as the Conservative group leader.

Most Read

He said: “In the recent elections the people of St Neots sent out a clear message about the way they feel their town has been run in the past.

“The Conservatives have been given a decisive mandate to deliver more cost-effective, efficient service that local people want, whilst maintaining a high degree of transparency and openness that taxpayers rightly deserve.”

Become a Supporter

This newspaper has been a central part of community life for many years. Our industry faces testing times, which is why we're asking for your support. Every contribution will help us continue to produce local journalism that makes a measurable difference to our community.

Become a Supporter