It’s one in and three out as St Neots Town Council welcomes new councillor while others resign

St Neots

St Neots - Credit: Archant

Ben Hicks has won a seat on St Neots Town Council, representing the Eaton Socon ward, after a by-election in the town on May 19.

Independent candidate, Mr Hicks, polled 422 votes, Adrian Usher (Con) received 191 and Labour’s candidate, Anna Hayward, 110, and the turnout was 17.15 per cent.

The town council has also announced this week that three councillors, two in Eaton Ford and one in Eynesbury, have resigned their seats and casual vacancies for the positions have been advertised.

Bill Hodges and Graham Welton, who represented Eaton Ford, and Eynesbury councillor Andrea Louie Ruck have all stood down in the last few days.

Chairman of the council, James Corley, told The Hunts Post he was upset and disappointed to hear the news.

“It is always upsetting when councillors stand down as it upsets the balance of the council and there is, of course, a cost attached to replacing them if we are forced to hold an election.”

Cllr Corley described Mrs Ruck as an “absolutely brilliant” councillor and praised the work she had done on bringing the St Neots Referendum to fruition. He said Graham Welton and Bill Hodges had served their wards well and he wished them luck.