Huntingdonshire to lose two county councillors in boundary shake-up


- Credit: Archant

Huntingdonshire is set to lose two county councillors as part of a review conducted by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England.

The commission this week published its final recommendations for new electoral arrangements for Cambridgeshire County Council, in which it is recommended that Cambridgeshire should be represented by 61 county councillors in the future: eight fewer than the current arrangement.

As part of those plans, Huntingdonshire will lose two of its current 19 councillors and, following the elections of 2017, will be represented by 17 councillors.

The commission’s recommendation followed two rounds of public consultation on its draft proposals last year and draws new boundaries for each county electoral division across Cambridgeshire.

Professor Colin Mellors, chairman of the commission, said: “We are extremely grateful to people across Cambridgeshire who took the time and effort to send us their views. The commission considered every piece of evidence it received before finalising these recommendations.

“Across the county, we have sought to balance the views expressed to us by local people with the criteria we must apply when we are deciding on new electoral arrangements. As such, we believe these recommendations deliver electoral equality for voters as well as reflecting the identities of communities in Cambridgeshire.”

The commission also highlighted that it had changed its recommendations in light of public responses to the consultation.

Most Read

For example, Wyton-on-the-Hill parish will now be part of the St Ives North and Wyton division rather than Somersham and Earith and originally proposed. Respondents to the consultation argued that the parish shared closer community ties with St Ives.

In addition, the commission has decided to rename its proposed Norman Cross division as Sawtry and Stilton division following a local proposal.

Full details of the recommendations are available on the commission’s website at