A pair of former district councillors have been awarded the honorary positions of alderman by Huntingdonshire District Council.

At a special council meeting held on December 21, district councillors bestowed the position on former councillors Ian Bates and Andrew Hansard, who still sits on St Neots Town Council.

A spokesman for the council said: “The award was made in recognition of their distinguished public service to the district and people of Huntingdonshire, and to their respective wards of The Hemingfords and St Neots Eynesbury.”

The dustruct council agreed to introduce the titles of honorary alderman and honorary alderwoman for current and future members of the council who cumulatively have served 12 years as an elected councillor on the authority.